Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

This book is a mixed bag – the characters are, on the most part, detestable. Its a novel about revenge and a demonic romance. It’s a must read for any fans of the Brontë sisters – just because.

Main characters:

  • Nelly Dean – Main Narrator
  • Lockwood – Sub Narrator
  • Heathcliff – Orphan taken in by Mr. Earnshaw. Loves Catherine desperately, married to Isabella Linton
  • Isabella Linton – Edgars sister and Heathcliff wife
  • Catherine – Heathcliffs childhood sweetheart. Married to Edgar Linton
  • Edgar Linton – Catherines husband
  • Mr. Earnshaw – Catherine and Hindleys father, adopted Heathcliff
  • Hindley Earnshaw -Mr. Earnshaws son, Catherines brother

(This is not a full character list – just the most significant)


  • Revenge
  • Love and Obsession
  • Belonging
  • Social Class

Why read Wuthering Heights?

You should read Wuthering Heights, if you’re a romantic or someone who enjoys vengeful complex characters.


It opens with the narrator Lockwood visiting his landlord in Wuthering Heights(WH). He is baffled by the behavior of the occupants. Whilst at WH, the weather becomes wild and Lockwood is forced to stay overnight.

He stays in Catherines old bedroom. He finds some of her old diaries and reads through them. Lockwood experiences something supernatural whilst in the room; this both scares and intrigues him. Once home in Thrushcross Grange he begs his servant to tell him about the occupants of WH.


Mr. Earnshaw – the then owner of WH brings home an orphan from London – Heathcliff. His son and daughter, Hindley and Catherine detest this newcomer. Hindley is vicious and cruel to him. However Catherine quickly comes to love him deeply.

Heathcliff and Catherine play together on the moors and are oblivious to any one else. Until, they meet the Lintons. Catherine becomes ill one day and has to spend 5 weeks at Thrushcross Grange. By the time she leaves she is infatuated with Edgar. She starts to spend less time with Heathcliff and more with Edgar. Heathcliff hears her say one day that she could never marry him. He leaves for three years.


In the time he’s gone, Catherine and Edgar marry. A romance doomed. Heathcliff returns sporting a mysterious fortune. He loans money to his enemy Hindley, because he knows he will drown himself in debt and drink. Hindley dies and Heathcliff inherits the estate of WH.

Cathy and Heathcliff

Catherine and Heathcliff

Heathcliff marries Isabella Linton. Catherine dies giving birth to Edgars son. Heathcliff is distraught and begs her spirit to stay on earth.


Heathcliff vows revenge on Edgar Linton – the man who stole his soul mate.

What of Catherines ghost? What of her child? What lengths will Heathcliff go to exact his revenge?

Read it to find out.

Follow this link for a cheap version of the book.

Watch part 1 and 2 of the 2009 remake of the movie here.


Favourite quote:

If all else perished, and he remained, I should still continue to be; and if all else remained, and he were annihilated, the universe would turn to a mighty stranger.” -Catherine


I would recommend this book to Brontë fans, obviously. And to people with the believe that love can redeem the worst of people.

3 out of 5 cup rating.

This is part 3 in a series of 5.

Part 1 –  Great Expectations by Charles Dickens


Part 2 – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë


Part 4 – Pride and Prejudice – by Jane Austen


Part 5 – Dracula by Bram Stoker